GUM Announces New Album + Shares New Track “Don’t Let It Go Out”


A mastermind behind psychedelic melodies, GUM aka Jay Watson (Tame Impala, POND) celebrates the announcement of his fifth studio album Out In The World available June 12 via Spinning Top Records by releasing a new album track “Dont Let It Go Out.” With a previously released title track + music video, both songs are now available as instant downloads for fans when they pre-order the album.

On the album, Watson notes: “This album is my attempt at making a record that combines my fascination of how other people live their lives, with my own internal desire to analyse mine and improve it. ‘Out In The World’ was a phrase that conjured a lot of grandeur and ego, yet somehow felt really small and wholesome at the same time.

Melancholic in tonal resonation, “Don’t Let It Go Out”  lends its lyricism to exhibit euphoric states of optimism. “In the darkest sea/there remains a beam/of a light so bright/the whole world shines;” a mantra that coincides perfectly with todays time. While the words don’t exactly lend itself towards narrating a story, the song acts as a shapeshifting force that dances around emotion. The playfully upbeat melody, intertwined with Watson’s influence of psychedelic synths and experimental nature mark a song that delivers his concerted sound while beginning to explore new grounds.

Hear “Don’t Let It Go Out” below!

Regarding his musical composition and influences, Watson shares: “My music for years was an obvious sum of its influences but it’s getting harder and harder to pick,” he adds. “‘Don’t Let It Go Out’ is about our modern desire to capture or record and keep every moment. The ease, not only to do all this, but then to lose it forever down the track inspires and disturbs me.

Out In The World will follow GUM’s last album in 2018 The Underdog. It was his fourth album, following his 2014 debut Delorean Highway, 2015’s Glamorous Damage, and 2016’s Flash In the Pan. Watson has also released music alongside Tame Impala with their latest release The Slow Rush in February and alongside POND with their latest release Sessions in November of 2019, both via Interscope

Out In The World is now available for pre-order in digital formats as well as limited edition baby blue 12” vinyl here.

Out In The World Track List

1.) Weightless in L.A.
2.) Airwalkin’
3.) Out In the World
4.) The Thrill of Doing It Right
5.) Many Tears To Cry
6.) Alphabet Soup
7.) Don’t Let It Go Out
8.) Down The Dream
9.) Low To Low
10.) You Make Your Own Luck

[+] GUM

[Website] [Facebook] [Instagram] [Twitter] [Spotify] [YouTube]

Power your creative ideas with pixel-perfect design and cutting-edge technology. Create your beautiful website with Zeen now.